New England Poetry Club

There are presently no open calls for submissions.


The Board of the New England Poetry Club has revised its contests and is excited to announce the following prizes. We hope you will be inspired to send your work.

Please note that these contests are open to all writers in English, with the exception of the Amy Lowell Prize which will be given to a poet with strong ties to New England.

Samuel Washington Allen Prize    For a long poem or poem sequence of 3 to 10 pages, single-spaced. The 2019 judge is Robert Pinsky, poet, essayist, translator, teacher, three-term U.S. Poet Laureate, and recipient of the Golden Rose from the New England Poetry Club.

This prize honors the legacy of the African-American poet, translator, professor, and former New England Poetry Club leader, Samuel Washington Allen, who also published as Paul Vesey.

E. E. Cummings Prize    For a compelling, lyrical, or experimental poem under 21 lines. The 2019 judge is Nicole Terez Dutton, author of the collection, If One Of Us Should Fall, and former Poet Laureate of Somerville, Massachusetts .

This prize recognizes one of the New England Poetry Club's most famous charter members.

Amy Lowell Prize    For an outstanding poem of any length or style by a poet with strong ties to New England. The 2019 judge is Martha Collins, award-winning poet and editor of FIELD, the author of numerous collections, most recently Night Unto Night.

This prize recognizes the charismatic poet who was the New England Poetry Club's first president.

Der-Hovanessian Prize     For a translation from any language; the original poem should be authored by someone other than the translator. Include the poem in the original language along with the translation. The 2019 judge is Alan Smith Soto, poet, translator, and professor of Spanish literature at Boston University, the author of Libro del lago (Pond poems) and other works.

This long-standing prize is named in honor of poet and translator Diana Der-Hovanessian who led the New England Poetry Club with vision and energy for decades.

Book Prize Guidelines

Send two copies of your book with a cover page that includes your contact information to Mary Buchinger, NEPC President, 53 Regent Street, Cambridge, 02140. Entry by postal services only. Non-members include a check for $15 made out to the New England Poetry Club. 


Submission Period

April and May only; entries received outside these months will not be considered.
Winners announced online in August/September.

Guidelines : Please read all the guidelines carefully.

  • Only one poem per contest.
  • Entries must be original unpublished (neither print nor online) poems in English.
  • No poem may be entered in more than one contest, nor should it have won a previous NEPC contest. 
  • On a SEPARATE COVER SHEET, provide the author's name and contact information (email address is preferred) and list the poem titles and contests entered (e.g. "The Wasteland" -- Samuel Washington Allen Prize).
  • If you are submitting a poem for the Amy Lowell Prize, please include on the cover sheet a brief note describing your strong connection to New England.
  • The name of the contest should appear at the top of the page for each poem submitted. 
  • The cover sheet and submitted poems should be included in ONE DOCUMENT

Free for Members (Membership information here. Joining is easy.) Non-members may enter by paying $5 for each poem submitted.

Prizes and Recognition
Winners of individual poem contests will receive:

  • ·  $250
  • ·  Publication of winning poems on NEPC website
  • ·  Opportunity to read at the NEPC (travel expenses not included)

Selection Process

Contests judges are well-known poets who may have won previous NEPC contests.
Judges read manuscripts with no identifying information. 

Judges reserve the right not to select a winner.
The New England Poetry Club will not engage in correspondence regarding poems submitted or contest decisions.


We require First Rights and won't consider poems that have been self-published, published online, or posted to blogs. All rights revert to the author upon publication.

New England Poetry Club